The winners of MFF2020 have been announced!

Muslim Film Festival has announced the winners of 2020 film competition in the annual Award Ceremony held at the State Library of WA theatre on 5 September 2020.

The event’s MC Miss Eman Fathi El Bab acknowledged the Traditional Owners of the country throughout Australia, and recognised their continuing connection to land, waters and culture. We pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging. 

On behalf of Muslim Film Festival team She welcomed everyone attended the event, and she stressed in particular on MFF distinguished guests:

* Hon. Bill Johnston , MLA, Minister for Mines & Petroleum; Energy; Industrial Relations;

* Ms Janine Freeman, MLP Member for Mirrabooka, representing Hon. Paul Papalia, Minister for Tourism; Racing and Gaming; Small Business; Defence Issues; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests.

* Dr. Rateb Jneid, the president of Australian Federation of Islamic Councils,

* Mr. Patrick Hall, His worship Mayor of the City of Canning,

* Ms Kate Rowlands- Manager Community Relations and Information at the Office of Multicultural Interest,

*Mr Abdurahman Yahya the president of the Islamic Council of Western Australia,

* Mr. Willie Rowe, the CEO of ScreenWest,

* Suzanne Worner, the General manager of Revelation Film Festival,

Eman welcomed the festival judges who have came along Mr. Istined Haddad, and Mr. Hamza Shiban. Also, Mrs. Suzanne Worner mentioned and praised in her speech all judges who participated in this year’s jury panel, namely:

Suzanne Worner

Matthew Phillips

Daniel Schultheis 

Karina Sorelli 

Oz Malik 

Fathi Jaouadi 

Niam Itani   

Hamza Shiban 

Jehad Debbab

Hesham Habibullah

Istenad Haddad

Nasya Bahfen 

Shaheed Drew 

Ali Akbaldar 

Eman added that “Muslim Film Festival Team acknowledges the tremendous support of our sponsors during last two years, namely Hon. Paul Papalia, the Minister for Tourism; Racing and Gaming; Small Business; Defence Issues; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests, and Dr. Rateb Jneid, President of AFIC, both of them have believed in our mission and supported us since day one.”

She added: “we thank all our sponsors, partners and supporters:

Office of Multicultural Interest,

Australian Federation of Islamic Councils

Human Appeal Australia,

Islamic Council of WA,

City of Canning

Amust Newspaper

Muslim Heritage Australia


MFF distinguished guests: Hon. Bill Johnston, Dr. Rateb Jneid, Ms. Janine Freeman MLA and Dr. Joanne McKeown announced the winners:

:* Director award:

Rahmat Creel, (short Documentary) Iran.

* Best Short Drama:
Brotherhood, Canada.
@brotherhoodshortfilm @merjoobeur

* Best Short Documentary:
Gando, Iran.

* Best feature Documentary:
Price of Folly, Belgium.

Congratulation to all the winners. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *